New pope is chosen

jeng

In the beginning I should say that this kind of joke is not my style at all (I mean I like rude, even black humour, but I seldom interfere in politics and religion – I’m just not interested in it). I don’t care about new pope, nor about homosexuals, but when I had opened a morning newspaper the day after the pope’s election the big words ‘HE LIKES FOOTBALL!!’ hit me straight in the eye.
‘So what?’ – I thought – ‘Is it the most important information about him?’ and then I had to put glasses on my nose to read more, because other text was so small. T_T <– I tried to imitate that impression in this comic, but not to make it illegible.
Actually, many good things were written about him (if I did care a bit, I’d even like him for some points, but I do not care…) and he seems to be a rather sensible man. However, that one point about homosexuals was really standing out (though the font was small T_T). Not because he is against them (if he wasn’t it would be something new in the Catholic Church and it WOULD be really standing out! ), but ‘Satan’s devilish piece of work’ sounds like words taken straight from the Middle Ages and is not sensible at all. Ok, there are people who are against homosexuals as him, but believing they are ‘devilish seed’ is just more than childish nowadays. Somehow we have made a step forward (witches are not being burned at the stake anymore! yaay!) , but some opinions are pemanent for ages. It made me laugh and I thought that regardless Jesus himself was a gay or not (I don’t care about that), as he was teaching us to love everybody as sisters and brothers no matter who they are, why wouldn’t he love gays the same way?

Leave a Reply

